Tel: 07951 241193

sarahleighart@gmail.com

© 2019 Sarah Leigh Fine Art

  • Facebook
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram
About The Artist

Hi, welcome to my about page! Here you can read a little more about me and my life as a pet portrait and wildlife artist, my home life and other things that interest me.

I have been drawing all my life, apparently at the age of two I was picking up a pen and drawing simple teddy bear faces my Mum had shown me how to do. She was a very talented artist so I spent many years with her showing me how to draw. My passion has always been wildlife and animals. Birds of prey featured heavily in my early sketch books along with dogs. I had a brief period where I painted Second World War planes. I think my fascination came from growing up in Biggin Hill. I always ended up returning to the animals.

I completed A-level art and went to art college, after which my interest waned for many years. I don't think I even picked up a paint brush for 7 or 8 years, when suddenly I got asked to paint our dog for an auction in our local pub. Why not I thought. I never expected it fetch much interest, but I was wrong, and from there the enquiries started. Finally in 2004 I left my full time job to become a full time pet portrait artist and here I am now. As well as using my preferred medium of pastels to paint my beloved pet portraits I like to experiment with other mediums as well. I sometimes use charcoal and graphite and also started using watercolours 3 years ago which lead me down the route of slightly more expressive work and Jolly Splashes was born!

I now live in Knockholt with my family, two dogs Maggie and Luke and my cat Murray. I have a lovely little studio in my back yard where I paint most of the week and my work has enabled me to be at home for my children since they were born, They are now 9 and nearly 13! I can't quite believe I nearly have a teenager in the house.

As I mentioned in the previous paragraph I am owned by Luke the Jack Russell Terrier, 6, Maggie the Chorkie 1 and Murray the ginger and white Moggie who we think is about 13. All rescues and loved very dearly. I certainly want to add for my furbaby family at some point over the next couple of years. Probably another dog as I live far to close to the main road to consider another cat. 

As well as painting pet portraits and wildlife pieces I love keeping fit. I nordic walk at lest twice a week and try to squeeze in a run or two, and of course I walk the dogs every day.